Retro Records: Donkey Kong (1983)

Phillip Cary was kind enough to drop by the Arkadia Retrocade this week and left me two LP’s to add to my music library. One was Buckner and Garcia’s 1982 Pac-Man Fever album which will find a place of honor in my record collection, my original LP that I had in my youth suffered a horrible accident many years ago. The second album Phillip brought in was the 1983 Kid Stuff Records release of Donkey Kong featuring story and songs of how the big ape ended up at the top of a construction site with Mario hot on his heels.

Donkey Kong - Backside - Kid Stuff Records

The back cover is roughed up but the Track list for the LP is:

1 Donkey Kong Theme
2 No More Zoo For You
3 The Climber
4 On Top Of The World
5 Jump Up
6 Mario Delivers
7 Donkey Kong Theme (Reprise)

After the arcade closed for the night some of us stayed and listened to the album, it is quite a bit of goofy fun and brings back some good memories to be sure.

Donkey Kong Theme

No More Zoo For You

[Videos Via] Doctor Del

A big thanks to the VGMdbfor that awesome album cover up top.


Editor at Retroist
Searching through the alleys for useful knowledge in the city of Nostalgia. Huge cinema fanatic and sometimes carrier of the flame for the weirding ways of 80s gaming, toys, and television. When his wife lets him he is quite happy sitting in the corner eating buckets of beef jerky.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.