The Mary Tyler Moore Show – The Complete Fifth Season on DVD

Mary Tyler Moore Show Season 5 DVD

I am a big fan of classic television. I especially like shows that have re-watch-ability. I know the current generation of TV watchers might not realize this, but one of the best shows ever made for TV was called “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”. It was a sharply written sitcom that established a great many of the conventions that modern sitcom watchers take for granted. Not to mention that it won 29 Emmy Awards during its 7 season run. All in all, it was an amazing show that spawned 3 spin-off and 2 of those were very memorable. Sadly the show has had a very slow release schedule, combine that with a lack of consistent reruns, and you get a very grumpy fan. That is why I am very happy to see that the Fifth Season of the show is finally available on DVD. The 3 disc set contains all of the episodes that ran from the 1974-1975 and includes:

01) Will Mary Richards Go to Jail? (Airdate: September 14, 1974)
02) Not Just Another Pretty Face (Airdate: September 21, 1974)
03) You Sometimes Hurt the One You Hate (Airdate: September 28, 1974)
04) Lou and That Woman (Airdate: October 5, 1974)
05) The Outsider (Airdate: October 12, 1974)
06) I Love a Piano (Airdate: October 19, 1974)
07) The New Sue Ann (Airdate: October 26, 1974)
08) Menage-a-Phyllis (Airdate: November 2, 1974)

09) Not a Christmas Story (Airdate: November 9, 1974)
10) What Are Friends For? (Airdate: November 16, 1974)
11) A Boy’s Best Friend (Airdate: November 23, 1974)
12) A Son for Murray (Airdate: November 30, 1974)
13) Neighbors (Airdate: December 7, 1974)
14) A Girl Like Mary (Airdate: December 14, 1974)
15) An Affair to Forget (Airdate: December 21, 1974)
16) Mary Richards: Producer (Airdate: January 4, 1975)

17) The System (Airdate: January 11, 1975)
18) Phyllis Whips Inflation (Airdate: January 18, 1975)
19) The Shame of the Cities (Airdate: January 25, 1975)
20) Marriage Minneapolis Style (Airdate: February 1, 1975)
21) You Try To Be a Nice Guy (Airdate: February 8, 1975)
22) You Can’t Lose ‘Em All (Airdate: February 15, 1975)
23) Ted Baxter’s Famous Broadcasters’ School (Airdate: February 22, 1975)
24) Anybody Who Hates Kids and Dogs (Airdate: March 8, 1975)

As a fan I would have liked a couple of extras, but its been a year since the last release, so at this point, I am just happy to get my hands on season 5 in its complete glory. You can pick it up for $24.99 on Amazon and own an American TV classic.


The Retroist

Editor/Podcaster at Retroist
The Retroist is like a BBQ on a bun without the bones. You're only human daddy. Chomp!

Latest posts by The Retroist (see all)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.