CBS Storybreak


CBS Storybreak was an animated anthology series that premiered in 1985 on CBS. It was hosted by Captain Kangaroo himself, the great Bob Keeshan and featured half hour adaptations of popular/classic children’s stories. The show won an Emmy for its initial season and ran until 1988. It returned to the air in 1993 with new host, The Cosby Show’s Malcolm Jamal-Warner.

Here is a list of all of the episodes from CBS Storybreak’s Initial run:

  1. The Great Ringtail Garbage Caper
  2. Yeh-Sheh: A Cinderella Story from China
  3. Robbut: A Tale of Tails
  4. How to Eat Fried Worms
  5. Zucchini
  6. Hank the Cowdog
  7. The Double Disappearance of Walter Fozbek
  8. Chocolate Fever
  9. Dragon’s Blood
  10. Arnold of the Duck
  11. C.L.U.T.Z.
  12. Witch-Cat
  13. The Pig Plantagent
  14. Harry the Fat Bear Spy
  15. Hugh Pine
  16. The Roquefort Gang

The one I remember the most is “How to Eat Fried Worms”. Probably because I remembered the story from when I was a kid. Sadly they have not done a DVD release of CBS Storybreak in a boxed set, but in 1992 they did release them on VHS, some of which you can still find on Amazon Marketplace and eBay. Just look for the box:


There used to be episodes of the show available on YouTube, but they have all been pulled for TOS violations. But you can still get a little CBS Storybreak magic from the intro and these bumpers.

CBS Storybreak Intro

CBS Storybreak Bumper 1

CBS Storybreak Bumper 2

CBS Storybreak Bumper 3


The Retroist

Editor/Podcaster at Retroist
The Retroist is like a BBQ on a bun without the bones. You're only human daddy. Chomp!

Latest posts by The Retroist (see all)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

9 thoughts on “CBS Storybreak”

%d bloggers like this: